EUCO prazna.png


Trapez 2.png


Trapez 2.png



The European Council is the multi-governmental body, in which EU member states -through their leaders- express their interests. Its main role is to define the general political direction and priorities of the EU. It brings together heads of state or governments of EU member states, European Council President and President of European Commission. All began in 1974 when leaders of the member states began to meet. In 1992, the European council got formal status and in 2009, the EU council was established as an official EU institution. Meetings in the EU Council take place 4 times per year and they are convened and chaired by its President, who is elected by the European Council itself. As an EU institution, the European Council can decide on the EU’s overall direction and political priorities, however, it cannot pass laws. It also deals with complex or sensitive issues; it sets the EU’s common foreign and security policy and nominates and appoints candidates to certain high profile EU level roles. 

In the European Council, delegates will represent the leaders of the EU member states. The working procedure of the Committee will be led by the Committee Directors, who will have the roles of the President of the European Commission and President of the European Council. All delegates must write position papers and submit it to the MUNLaws Academic team. Position papers will be reviewed and scored by the Academic team and shall greatly contribute to the final scores of delegates, upon which Committee awards will be based. Instructions on how to write the position paper are published on this website. Failure to follow these instructions or to meet the deadline for the submission of the position papers will result in negative points for the position paper. All delegates shall present their opening statements on the discussed topic after setting the agenda. Once every delegate presents their opening statement, which must not exceed 2 minutes, a general speakers list will be established and the floor shall be open to points or motions, as described in the General Rules of Procedure. Delegates recognized from the general speaker's list shall have no more than one and a half minutes to address the Committee.

The main goal of the Committee is to adopt a final document.  Issues that have not been discussed during formal debate may not be included in the document. Every delegate shall read the General Rules of Procedure prior to the start of the MUNLawS Conference for a further detailed description of the procedure.


Žiga Ciglarič

Lara Bogme

Žiga is a student at the Faculty of Law, University of Ljubljana. He experienced his first model United Nations conference back in  2016 and was delegate more than five times. He chaired different committees three times and was also secretary-general of GimMUN in 2019. This will his first time chairing at MunLaws. During his free time, he enjoys reading history books and is active in local politics. 



Lara is a student at the Faculty of Law, University of Ljubljana. Her first MUN experience was back in 2016, when she represented the Republic of South Africa in the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement. She participated in several MUN conferences. She enjoys taking on challenges and strongly believes that the difference between working with a goal in your mind and working without it is the result.